//
you're reading...
Kingdom Living

Kingdom Living – Only He knows the real you (Psalms 139:1-4)

Today’s Reading: Psalms 139-143

Today’s Reflection: Psalms 139:1-4

1) O LORD, you have searched me and known me! 2) You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar.  3) You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.  4) Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.

One of the stumbling blocks for people deciding whether or not to follow God is self-determination.  Do I get to decide my direction in life?  The things I can or cannot do?  Who my friends should be?  Who I should marry?  What job or career path I should pursue?  The hobbies and interests I should allow to occupy my time?  Or do I turn that control (to some degree at least) over to God?  In our individualistic, post-modern society, where absolute truth no longer exists, handing over the reigns of one’s life would be odd at best and dangerous at worst.

But today’s reflection text reminds us that God knows us better than we know ourselves.  Psalms 139 goes on to point out that God knew us before we were even born because He created us by His own hand (Psalms 139:13-16) and that He is present with us wherever we go and whatever we do (vs. 7-12).  Our gifts, talents, personality, temperament, tastes, habits, every aspect of our being is understood by God much better than we understand them ourselves.

So the control we think we have when we decide to choose our own way is an illusion.  More often than not we’re trying to chart our life paths without a map, a strategy sure to get us nowhere fast.  On the other hand the God who made us knows what we were made for, and knows what will fulfill us, give us purpose, a sense of accomplishment, and contentedness.  God doesn’t desire to control us. He never forces but always gives us a choice.

God does want you to willingly submit your decision-making to His direction and instruction.  He wants to collaborate with you by leading and directing your path because He knows how to make you into the best version of you you can be.  He knows your issues and how to deal with them.  He knows your strengths and how to bring them out.  Take some time with God and let Him introduce you to the “you” only He knows.

Exodus 4:10-12 – 10) But Moses said to the LORD, “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in the past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.” 11) Then the LORD said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the LORD? 12) Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.”

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow The Bible Reading Club on twitter!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 259 other followers

